Isaac Albeniz

Isaac Albeniz

Isaac AlbenizIsaac Albeniz i Pascual (Spanish pronunciation: ) (May 29, 1860 - May 18, 1909) was a Spanish pianist and composer best known for his piano works based on folk music.

Albeniz' Suite Espanola Op.47 is comprised mainly of pieces written in 1886, and grouped together in 1887 in honor of the Queen of Spain. Like many of Albeniz' piano pieces, these works are miniature tone pictures of different geographical regions and musical idioms of Spain. The eight original titles are Granada, Cataluna, Sevilla, Cadiz, Asturias, Aragon, Castilla and Cuba but only the first three titles and Cuba appeared in the original collection. The other pieces were published in later collections, often with different titles. The publisher Hofmeister published all eight titles of Suite Espanola in 1911 after Albeniz' death, appropriating other pieces for the other four titles so those pieces do not always accurately reflect the geographic designation of the titles, most obviously in the case of Asturias (Leyenda) whose Andalusian flamenco rhythms bear little resemblance to the music of the northern province Asturias. The opus number 47 assigned by Hofmeister has no relation to any chronological order in Albeniz' oeuvre, in which opus numbers were randomly given by publishers or by Albeniz himself, with some pieces appearing in more than one collection.

Latest Sheets Of Isaac Albeniz Isaac Albeniz Latest Sheets Feed
Latest Requests Of Isaac Albeniz Isaac Albeniz Latest Requests Feed

Advertisement Advertisement

share this artist

No request found!